top of page
Search

Hold Fast


"Let us hold tightly (fast) without wavering to the hope we affirm,

for God can be trusted to keep his promise." Hebrews 10:23 (NLT)


In a recent study of Paul's writings to the Philippians I was encouraged by several of the passages regarding perseverance and the respectful place of joy in the Believer's life. If anyone had reason to be dismayed, disappointed, discouraged, depressed Paul certainly had the right of passage. By the time he had written to the church at Philippi he had been slandered, beaten, whipped, imprisoned, isolated, in pain, in neglect, in hunger, life could have felt barren and at loss of life. But this is not the stance of this Apostle.


One question that comes to the forefront when meeting with people who are going through crisis, grief, despair is, "Why did GOD allow this circumstance to happen?" Regardless of the circumstance the "why" question pops up recurrently. Paul did not ask why. Paul admonishes the Believers that regardless of what they are facing, experiencing, or fear to face the person with a transformed life can face uncertainty, pain, grief, separation, isolation, trials of all kinds with joy. Nehemiah 8:10 "The joy of the Lord is my strength." Joy does not mean the heart doesn't break. It does not mean the absence of sorrow. Joy is love's strength to endure, to persevere, to take one tiny little step after another in faith until the shadows have dissipated and the sun shines within us again. (Philippians 4:11)


Paul grieved, felt pain, frustrations, and disappointments. His joy was not temporary or circumstantial, it was firmly planted, rooted in the knowledge and experience of eternal salvation only found in Christ Jesus. Paul's life had been so transformed the joy he now experienced far surpassed the life he once lived as a Roman persecuting Messianic Christians, putting them to death. He knew poverty of soul and spirit. He knew separation from GOD. He worshipped the Emperor of Rome. He was a Hebrew of the Hebrews, a Pharisee, full of zeal, persecuting the church, legalistic in righteousness almost to perfection. (Philippians 3:5 & 6). His transformation on the road to Damascus (Acts 9:1-9, 22:6-11, 26:9-20) when the Lord appeared to him through the bright light humbling him of all his education, experience, and conceit though it physically blinded him (signifying spiritual blindness) shed light abroad in his heart and mind so radically changing, transforming, upsetting his mind set from carnal things to eternal things. He knew what he was saved from and he knew where his salvation was leading. This is why he is able to say in Philippians 4:4 "Rejoice in the Lord always and again I say rejoice."

This new joy that Paul experienced was evidenced throughout his writings. He knew a confidence in his relationship with Christ that was able to take him through whatever was deemed necessary for the gospel message to go forth. "Being confident of this, that He who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus." Philippians 1:6. In verses 21-26 of the same chapter Paul wrote, "For I fully expect and hope that I will never be ashamed, but that I will continue to be bold for Christ, as I have been in the past. And I trust that my life will bring honor to Christ, whether I live or die. For to me, living means living for Christ, and dying is even better. But if I live, I can do more fruitful work for Christ. So I really don’t know which is better. I’m torn between two desires: I long to go and be with Christ, which would be far better for me. But for your sakes, it is better that I continue to live. Knowing this, I am convinced that I will remain alive so I can continue to help all of you grow and experience the joy of your faith. And when I come to you again, you will have even more reason to take pride in Christ Jesus because of what he is doing through me." Paul's reasoning was impeccable he would endure for the sake of those whom his life would touch for Christ. One might ask themselves, "Am I willing to endure the hardship I find myself in, taking it as joy though sadness and brokenness that others might come to know Christ through my suffering and example of faith?" (2 Corinthians 1:3-7)


Paul understood the key to joy through trials, it being found in the deep abiding wisdom & trustworthiness of relationship in Christ Jesus. He could surrender his circumstances into the hands of the One who carried him out of darkness and who Himself had tasted death that Paul, and you and I might live. "I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me, and gave himself for me." Galatians 2:20. Because Paul had confidence in the One who had called him. (I Thessalonians 5:24; 2 Timothy 1:12). In James 1:2 NLT "Dear brothers and sisters, when troubles of any kind come your way, consider it an opportunity for great joy." Paul expresses trials are an opportunity for great joy. The secret to finding joy in the trial is in the tight knit covenant relationship with the Master not in our emotional responses. "Let nothing master you, but the Master."


Paul knew and understood that this world's affluence and stature were worthless and vain and he counted all things loss. Philippians 3:7–8 (NLT) "I once thought these things were valuable, but now I consider them worthless because of what Christ has done. Yes, everything else is worthless when compared with the infinite value of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord. For his sake I have discarded everything else, counting it all as garbage, so that I could gain Christ."


Paul understood the life of surrender as Jesus did in the Garden of Gethsemane -

"Saying, Father, if thou be willing, remove this cup from me: nevertheless not my will, but thine, be done." Luke 22:42 KJV. This world did not have a hold on Jesus, and Paul knew that regardless of what the world offered him prestige, affluence, education, imprisonment, persecution it could not hold him. "So when Jesus had received the sour wine, He said, “It is finished!” And bowing His head, He gave up His spirit." John 19:30 (NKJV). Jesus gave up His spirit. It was not taken from Him as the enemy supposed. He willingly died, endured the scorn, the beatings, the persecution, imprisoned as a imposter, ridiculed and He did it for every Believer for all times to be found in all places even to the ends of the earth.


Relating to Paul, rejoicing always in all kinds of fiery trials is a big pill to swallow. It takes sheer grits and guts, it takes fortitude, it takes faith, it takes walking humbly with our GOD (Micah 6:8) and it takes a sweet surrender to trust in the Lord with all our hearts, yes, with all the broken pieces, not to lean on our own understanding in the midst of unanswered questions. Sometimes crawling on our hands and knees being the only ounce of strength we have left, physically, emotionally undone, we will find as Paul did, HE IS FAITHFUL. If in the midst of the trials we put our mustard seed faith in HIM, looking for HIS heart in the matter we will find HIM. Many say, "I searched for GOD but I came up empty handed. I needed Him but in my darkest hour He was no where to be found." Do you suppose that it wasn't GOD who was hiding but the darkness surrounding them shrouded the ability to see GOD at work? ( Proverbs 3:5 & 6; Jeremiah 29:11-14; Romans 1:18-). The Scriptures say, "Therefore he is able, once and forever, to save those who come to God through him. He lives forever to intercede with God on their behalf." Hebrews 7:25 (NLT)

How then are we to maintain joy in the midst of sorrow, the answer lies within the covers of the Holy Scriptures, "looking unto Jesus, the author and finisher of our faith, who for the joy that was set before Him endured the cross, despising the shame, and has sat down at the right hand of the throne of God." Hebrews 12:2 (NKJV)


1 Peter 4:12–19 (NLT) "Dear friends, don’t be surprised at the fiery trials you are going through, as if something strange were happening to you. Instead, be very glad—for these trials make you partners with Christ in his suffering, so that you will have the wonderful joy of seeing his glory when it is revealed to all the world. If you are insulted because you bear the name of Christ, you will be blessed, for the glorious Spirit of God rests upon you. If you suffer, however, it must not be for murder, stealing, making trouble, or prying into other people’s affairs. But it is no shame to suffer for being a Christian. Praise God for the privilege of being called by his name! For the time has come for judgment, and it must begin with God’s household. And if judgment begins with us, what terrible fate awaits those who have never obeyed God’s Good News? And also, “If the righteous are barely saved, what will happen to godless sinners?” So if you are suffering in a manner that pleases God, keep on doing what is right, and trust your lives to the God who created you, for He will never fail you."

Our word for today is that we are to "HOLD FAST". Trials are inevitable. Though in our flesh we do not count it all joy when we face fiery trials, hardships, grievances, grief, scorn, (you name your circumstance) but we know that we have a great cloud of witnesses who have gone before us (Hebrews 12:1). Through Paul's example having our faith in order, priorities straight, we can endure and persevere through hardships with the strength of Love's joy.

As I sit writing I recognize the sweet whisper of these words, perhaps they will bless you as well, "Hold fast My child, weeping may endure for the night, but joy comes in the morning." (Psalm 30:5)


"Blessed is the man who remains steadfast under trial, for when he has stood the test he will receive the crown of life, which God has promised to those who love him." James 1:12.

24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page