top of page
Search

Take Heart

Updated: Feb 23, 2021


Heratio Spafford having lost his only son at the age of four, later lost his estate in the Great Chicago fire, and then lost his four daughters in the sinking of the SS Ville Du Havre, penned these beautiful words through grief and anguish - "Whatever my Lord, You have taught me to say, It is well, it is well with my soul."


The Apostle Paul wrote in Philippians 4:11-13 "Not that I am speaking of being in need, for I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content. I know how to be brought low, and I know how to abound. In any and every circumstance, I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance and need. I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me."


In light of Paul's words, and those of Heratio Spafford, how do you see yourself lining up with "It is well with my soul?" Are the sorrows, hardships, viruses, masks, social distancing, the political arena, isolation, (the list could go on and on) weighing heavily upon you? Is the battlefield of your mind so noisy with your own thoughts drowning out the reality you can do all things through Christ who strengthens you?


It is a precarious season with mandates, continued closures, social distancing, and everyone's concerns of safety issues. BUT this season does not drown out the heart of our compassionate, loving GOD who is still speaking, who is still moving heaven and earth on behalf of His children. It hasn't silenced the voice of the Word of GOD. If anything, more and more people are awakening to their need of communion with the Father. Bible sales are on the rise and this neglected book is being picked up and read again, for in it is life! As of late my hubby and I have had the awesome privilege of leading individuals back to re-committing their hearts to their first love, Jesus Christ.


The early church knew of hardships under Roman rule. Many of our brothers and sisters across the world are experiencing hardships that we can only imagine. Perhaps we wonder how soon will those same hardships knock on our doors. We pray never! None the less many are experiencing oppressiveness on every side.


As I write this I am reminded of Jeremiah 12:5 "If you have raced with men on foot and they have wearied you. how will you compete with horses? And if in a safe land you are so trusting, what will you do in the thicket of the Jordan?" Jeremiah's complaints of the prosperity of the wicked did not go unnoticed by GOD, who turned the prophets complaining into self examination. I could hear in my own heart: "If you are tired of the insecurity of the culture now, wait until hardship really comes. How will you deal with it then?" We are all tired of the political jargon of our day and the restrictions of daily living. In Galatians 6:9 we find encouragement that our perseverance is not in vain. "And let us not grow weary of doing good, for in due season we will reap, if we do not give up." Let these words sink into the marsh of your heart. This is not the time for giving up, or holding up in isolation away from the people of GOD, away from the House of GOD, away from personal relationship with GOD. It is the time for us to press on in our faith as never before in whatever ways our new normal requires. To know the hand of GOD is upon us even in a weary land. (Romans 8:22) He has never left or forsaken us. He has not left us as orphans in want. He has not deprived us of opportunity to rest in His presence to be renewed and restored. Avail yourselves of the very essential part of who you are found in your relationship with Christ. Hebrews 13:5; Isaiah 41:10-13


As children of GOD we can experience Jeremiah 31:3 "the Lord has appeared of old to me, saying, "Yea, I have loved you with an everlasting love; therefore with loving kindness have I drawn you." Be drawn today by this everlasting love that is reaching out over time and eternity, reaching within you, reaching for you. As you rest in His love be renewed, refreshed and restored. Nothing can extinguish this great love of our Heavenly Father directed toward His children.


Regardless of your circumstances like Paul and Horatio who took great comfort in placing their faith in the hands of the Master during adverse times, are you able to say, "Whatever my Lord, You have taught me to say, It is well, it is well with my soul?"


"I have said these things to you that you might have peace. In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world." John 16:33.




28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page